More books…

…to read. Imagine that.

The lists of 50 are probably getting a bit tedious, so I’ve slowed on posting more. I have a few in draft, but if all I’m writing are lists, then it’s a boring page. I returned Michio Kaku’s Physics of the Impossible Monday after the City Council meeting and went looking for any books on someone else’s list (of “best” science fiction) that that library branch might have – only finding Neuromancer by William Gibson. Surprisingly, I had only read the first of the ten:

  1. THE FOUNDATION TRILOGY by Isaac Asimov
  2. NOVA by Samuel R. Delany
  3. THE STARS MY DESTINATION by Alfred Bester
  4. CONSIDER PHLEBAS by Iain M. Banks
  5. NEUROMANCER by William Gibson
  6. AND CHAOS DIED by Joanna Russ
  7. WHERE LATE THE SWEET BIRDS SANG by Kate Wilhelm
  8. TIMESCAPE by Gregory Benford
  9. SUPERLUMINAL by Vonda McIntyre
  10. LEGION OF SPACE by Jack Williamson

I’ve got some catching up to do. Add to that list, my Book Lover’s calendar recommendation for last Thursday was End Game by Frank Brady, about Bobby Fischer. I checked and found a copy at the branch I was at. I picked it up at the same time and am 2/3 through it already. I like chess (but haven’t played much in the past 25 years), was always fascinated by Fischer, and remember the summer of 1972 and the World Championship. Fascinating insight.

Add Kaku referenced several more books in Physics that I want to find. I need to re-retire so I can read them all.

Leave a Reply

