Darwin and our species

While I was lamenting creating a better, faster, smarter, stronger gambusia, I experienced the patience of a hunting fisherman. Of course, my ADD clicked in and my mind wasn’t concentrating on the catch too well.

It occurred to me that with all our medical advances, better natal care and reduction in infant mortality, creation of vaccines and antibiotics, we’ve interrupted evolution to turn Homo sapiens sapiens into a lesser, slower, dumber, weaker human. Not that I’m complaining. I was born five weeks premature back in 1961 which would have been too short a cooking time a hundred years ago.

Modern human brains exploded onto the scene sometime between 250,000 and 500,000 years ago, and until recently, modern human existence beginning around 10,000 years ago shrank our brains somewhat. Until recently, with modern – that word is getting a little too much air time in this paragraph – nutrition, brains are making a rebound.

Except … with so many Americans thinking the Earth is only 6,000 years old or  denying evolution, obesity running rampant, so many politicians dragging us back to the New Dark Ages, and the mere existence of the Tea “Party”, I’m thinking modern times confirm my hypothesis.

Leave a Reply

