Devlok with Devdutt Pattanaik – review

Devlok with Devdutt PattanaikDevlok with Devdutt Pattanaik by Devdutt Pattanaik

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I have a tertiary understanding of Hinduism, or at least I thought I did. I certainly don’t know enough to evaluate Pattanaik’s responses in this collection of answers to questions from his show of the same name. But I did notice at least one answer (with respect to the branches of Hinduism) that conflicts with my sparse knowledge – two (Pattanaik) or four denominations? And one cuteness was too convenient: the Trimurti of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva are seen as the Generator, the Organizer, and the Destroyer respectively, or… G-O-D. All too advantageous of a backronym…

Regardless, as the world’s oldest extant religion at 4,000 years, it is far more complex than a leisurely read can scratch the surface of. I understand that the adherents largely pick and choose from the religion’s elements (influenced by region, for sure), are are essentially illiterate of, though rabidly faithful to, their sacred texts. Not unlike most American fundamentalist and casual Christians.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

